Adulting, Decisions and Life

“Adult isn’t a noun, it’s a verb. It’s the act of making correctly those small decisions that fill our day.” ― Kelly Williams Brown

Its been long since I wrote anything. I have been working so hard at being an adult. Am also currently working on putting up another blog which is taking longer than expected.

In this post am going to look back to the past year, what I have gone through, the difficult moments, what I have learnt and what am still going through. In short this post is all about “adulting”.

I have always mentioned that life is a journey. Not the easy kind of journey though. Its the kind that throws unexpected twists along the way. Just when you think you have got everything figured out, something unexpected, more difficult is thrown your way. Worry not, life isn’t meant to be easy and again if it was to be as easy as we expect it to be, don’t you think it would be pretty boring…

adulting 2

To be real with you adulting has not be easy for me… there are times I would just have emotional breakdowns for no apparent reason. Like life becomes so difficult and you can’t figure out what to do so the only solution is just crying. Guess what now, I have grown some thick skin and am enjoy the journey so far. Here are a few things that I have learnt long the way:

  1. Taking a day at a time.

Sometime things can be overwhelming. You have bills to pay, you have tough decisions to make and no idea on where to start. Over time I have learnt to take a day at a time. You don’t have to figure out everything at once. Take time and be patient.

2.  Never give up on your dreams. 

I dream of doing great things in life and have a picture of what kind of life I want to live. Along the way, there are times I feel like just giving up. Then I always ask myself, “Why am I giving up on my dreams?” We don’t always get what we want in life just like that. It takes hard work, sleepless nights, patience and persistence. Success in anything don’t happen overnight. Once you understand that, you appreciate the process you have to go through in order to get to your goal.

3. Standing by your decisions.

Decision making always takes a toll on me especially when it decisions that relate to life. A friend once told me when you make a decision stand by it whether the repercussion of the decision is good or bad. Do not leave room for second guessing your decisions. As an adult there are a lot of decisions to make. Some will lead to mistake which instead of sulking and blaming yourself, take it as a lesson and move on.

I am learning that in life a positive attitude is important. I remind myself that I can get over any  circumstance I find myself in. I am learning to forgive myself. To be kind to myself when I don’t meet my own expectations. To be patience. To be embrace every season in life. I am teaching myself to stop and enjoy every moment of life. To stop anxiety, worrying, dreading. Instead, teach myself to give thanks. Be thankful for everything.

Till next time 🙂

~Auxillia

 

 

Leave a Reply

