Who is to blame for how some people dress?

Apologies for being MIA for a while now. I hope you guys are doing great.

This time of the year is when first year students report to school. For the four years I have lived within the university environs I have to say I have never seen people dressing the way this ones are. For some time now I have been meeting with some who are really skimpily dressed but yesterday I met the mother of them all. She was in a butty short and a top that left no room for imagination.

That reminded of a conversation I had with a certain bus driver when I was going to town sometime this week. There was this woman in a short blue dress that she kept pulling down. The driver was like “You see how you people dress. If women were given the opportunity to walk around naked majority of them would be glad.”

My question is who is to blame for how some people dress? There was a trending topic #MyDressMyChoice last year after the nasty incident of women getting undressed in town. Such behavior is medieval behavior and uncalled for.  Don’t get me wrong I totally agree. You have the choice to dress the way you want and nobody should have a problem with that. My main problem though is how we let it get to as far as being half dressed in the name of what you wear is your choice. Why misrepresent yourself in the name of dressing?

This also goes to the guys too. Who said walking around in sagging pants is fashionable? On the contrary it’s disgusting.

Are parents to blame for letting their kids dress indecently or is the society to blame? Trust you me at my age if I would wear some of the clothes this first year are wearing, my mum would beat the shit out of me. She doesn’t care how old you are. Is it that parents now do not care how the children dress or what is going on exactly? I really don’t get it.

I feel that even if we have to choice and freedom to wear what we want to wear, we should dress decently. What you wear says a lot about you. If you want people to respect you, wear something respectable. You don’t want people to go concluding you are a ratchet which you probably are not but you dressing say you are. Oohh…and don’t go advertising your goodies to everyone, Can you please leave some room for imagination. 🙂

Thanks for dropping by and please share your thoughts.

Till next time.

~Auxillia.

Leave a Reply

