LESSONS FROM CAMPUS LIFE.

Well, am graduating on Friday and I just thought why never share some of the things that I learnt during the four years in campus. We all have to agree university is one place where you have freedom to do what you want. Freedom that can either build you or destroy you. No one cares if you attend classes, nobody has the time to baby sit you but by the end of the day you have to live with the consequences of your actions. Besides the knowledge from books, I have learnt some valuable lessons. Am not only graduating with my degree but am also graduating with life lessons.

1. Perseverance and Persistence

Life in general is never easy. There are times when I felt like giving up. You attend class like its expected of you but some of the things that you learn in class you have to keep reading and reading in order to het the concept. Campus taught me to be tough and I grew thick skin. Comparing who I was when I first joined in 2011 and who I am now, I am totally different. I learnt not to give up, learnt to push for what I want however difficult it was and best of all it made me be a mature person.

2. True friendship

New environments call for change and since we are created as social beings we have to make friends. The big question is always who of my friends is genuine and who is not? Most of the people I became friends in my first year, we no longer communicate or there is bad blood between us. Something happened towards the end of my first year that really made me question the friends I had. With time you get to know who you can trust, who will be there for you through thick and thin and who really cares about you. Now I can say I have very few friends and the acquaintances…well let me not even begin counting. This goes out to a special person. Thanks for being a real friend, thanks for listening and putting up with me. You are like a big sister to me and am happy to call you my best friend.

 3.Self confidence

Working on school projects and having to sit for tough exams taught me to be confident in myself. You might not know everything but self-confidence takes you a long way. Things are not always in black and white; at times they are gray. Doubting yourself can cost you a lot. Believing in yourself on the other hand opens up doors for you. There will be a lot of challenges but you have to keep pushing and have faith.

4. Be yourself.

From observation and experience campus is one place you can where you can get lost literally. Get caught up with the wrong crowd and that’s the end of you. I learnt the best way to survive is being yourself. Do what is right/what you believe in even if others will hate you for it. You don’t have to compromise who you are in order to fit in. Who said you have to fit in? Have your priorities in order and have friends who influence you positively. Let other people fit into your plans and not the other way round.

  5. Determination.

We all join university for different reasons but what makes you unique from the thousands of people around you is knowing what you want and being determined to achieve it. It’s not always clear what one want but there is huge difference between someone with the drive to achieve something and someone without.

Am now looking forward to what the future holds for me.

Thanks for stopping by :-).

Till next time.

~Auxillia

Leave a Reply

