Being Strong!!!

I wrote this piece a few weeks ago but it has been on my laptop I guess waiting for the right time to post it…Now is the right time I guess. After this past weekend I feel like it’s the perfect timing. Forgive my title but I didn’t know what else to write as the title. Anyway someone once asked me why do I have to be so tough? I guess that was in reference to my no nonsense attitude…

Well that a very easy question. Why am I a tough woman? The answer is simple. I was not born tough…life has taught me to be tough. There comes a time in life where you have to decide enough is enough. Situations force you to be tough and the result is you become strong.

strong women

I remember when I was younger when I would do something and my dad would scold me and I would just start crying and think that he hates me. On the contrary he scolding me has made me to be the person I am today. It’s called tough love and what he did is a contributing factor to me being tough and strong.

There was time I could argue with someone and then when am alone start crying and back then if you could ask me what I was crying about the answer would be probably nothing or I don’t know. It came to a point where I was done crying over stuff, crying over guys, crying over stupid arguments. Enough was enough!!! It finally dawned on me. You have to get tough to survive well in the society.

In my life am surrounded by strong women especially my mum and grandma. I learn a lot from the two and they mean the world to me.

Being strong doesn’t mean you have to stay and fight all the battles and petty arguments that come your way. Being strong means you don’t have to respond to rude remarks by retorting back at them. That actually makes you sound stupid. The best things is to keep your dignity and don’t lower yourself to their level. True strength is knowing when to walk away with your head held high…maturity is not measured by age. If there is one thing I have mastered over the recent years it’s the “art” of walking way. Some may call it a cowardly act but I have learned to choose the battles that are worth fighting for and those to just walk away from. If something or someone is not worth my time I simply walk away with confidence and dignity. Fortunately am not the kind of people who act then regret…when I make up my mind that’s it.  A good example if someone feels am not good enough to be in their life, I don’t sit down to ask what I did not do or what I did…I just simply let it go. After all that’s the person’s loss. Am the kind of person who will treat you depending on how you behave. Behave like a kid and I will treat you like one…act maturely and I will definitely treat you like a mature person and I will also respect you.

Always surround yourself with people who make you want to do better about yourself, people who uplift you and finally people with strong personality and trust me you are good to go. 🙂

Till next time…

~Auxillia

Leave a Reply

